The resurfacing of repressed awkward memories

A few years ago in late summer in my home city of Buffalo, New York, I found myself at a gas station. I, reluctantly filling up my ford focus with frustration splashed all over my face, heard a vintage vehicle pull up at the tank beside me. I, being a typical girl, had no interest past the point of the annoyingly loud engine. So I returned to the ever increasing dollar amount that was going into my tank to eventually help hurt the Earth’s atmosphere. After dropping a dollar amount that thoroughly angered me, I slid back into my car, threw my sunglasses on my face and began to pull away.

I glanced at the now silent vintage vehicle sitting at the fueling station. The boy filling it has his back to me. I stopped my car. Something about this car was familiar, I knew this car, nay I knew the driver. I graduated Highschool with a boy who drove that car to school on occasion, aka when his father was out of town.

The car was an ugly tan color, the boy was a slight close friend, but I apparently forgot or was unaware he had a brother that looked essentially like him.

“Hey handsome, that’s a beautiful car you’ve got.”

The boy whom I thought I knew and was just trying to get his attention by awkwardly hitting on him at the gas station turns awkwardly around.

“Thanks, uh it isn’t mind, it’s my dads.”

Now at this point I recognized this boy to not actually be the boy I graduated with, but indeed his brother. So he thinks I’m actually hitting on him, so does everyone else at the gas station. Now I panic, WHAT DO I DO?!

“Well she looks dirty, you might want to go to the car wash.”

And at this point I frantically try to roll up my window, only my car has the 90’s crank windows. So I roll, say a few choice words, get flustered than eventually give up and slam on the accelerator. The gas station I was at was on the corner of a busy street, mid day during late summer and the weekend. I had to then awkwardly wait for traffic to break. To make myself seem even crazier I blasted my music, only to blast Britney Spears, 90’s edition.

Lesson of this post, DON’T AWKWARDLY HIT ON PEOPLE THAT HAVE THEIR BACK TO YOU THAT YOU MAY KNOW, BUT MAY NOT KNOW.

That or just repress everything.

Leave a Reply

