Tolerance breeds tragedy

About 6 months ago I applied to the Peace Corp.  Now I’m hesitate to post this because my know by date is March 1st 2016 on whether I’ve been selected or not.  However, I reread a portion of the letter I wrote to the Peace Corp on why I wanted to be a Peace Corp volunteer.  On a day where my fellow Americans stuff their gullets with festive holiday food there are people that mourn for much of the same reasons Americans celebrate.  I find it on days like today the need to spread the message of love, not tolerance. I may not have personally oppressed the Native Americans in which this day is the celebrated anniversary of, however, I desire to show mercy  for their loss on a day that Americans have seemed to gain so much.

Tolerance breeds tragedy.

As a little girl whenever I was asked what I wanted to be when I grew up I always gave the same answer.  I didn’t answer with a typical answer such as teacher or police woman, some would even be shocked to hear I didn’t say the first woman president or the real Rosie the Riveter. The answer I came up with as a little girl that stuck with me through young adulthood is simple. When I grow up I want to be happy. Today’s world can be at times rather scary which threatens my life long dream of growing up to be happy.  It seems like a weekly event I log on to a social media site to see another tragedy is trending. The little girl that remains in me with long blonde ringlets and the hip ‘90s bangs seems to fade with each trending story I read. Lately with the knowledge of having to write this letter I have spent a lot of time lying a wake in bed brainstorming ideas on how I could still grow up to be happy even in the bleakest of times.  So far the following is what I have come up for as my grand strategy to achieve my life dream of happiness. I believe genuinely that happiness is driven by love and acceptance.  So often I listen to people preach about tolerance and how we need more of it to sustain a happy world.  However I want to preach a difference message.  I don’t want to grow up in a world of tolerance, and I surely don’t want my children to face the big bully of tolerance either.  I believe that tolerance breeds tragedy in our world. How can we stop tragedy when we are spending all of our time focusing on not learning about one another but rather building walls of tolerance around each other?  My answer to our tragic trending story of life is love, we need to stop tolerating and starting loving each other. I want to grow up and raise a family in a world of love and acceptance, this, I know sounds horrendously corny.  Tolerance will not end tragedy. I know that cultivating a world of love will not happen over night or even with one person.  However, as I sit here writing this I wish I could put into words how much I don’t want to be insane.  I believe that a change in the way people interact with one another begins with people participating in that change.  Change starts with selflessness, compassion, love and acceptance.  I have chosen to participant in the Peace Corp because I believe it is an opportunity to perpetuate a world of love.  I want to do my part, continue my journey to happiness and I believe volunteer service in your organization is part of my journey.

I’ll be sure to let you know if I’ve been selected for the Peace Corp and whether I have decided to take the position as well in March 2016.

Leave a Reply

